Day 49

Day One of Pitchfork Music Festival (AKA the middle of summer.)

I worked on Friday morning. It wasn’t TOO bad. After I finished I dropped the kiddo off at Airtastic and headed straight to the city. Airtastic is right off Ogden and so is Pitchfork so I just decided to take Ogden all the way into the city. That took quite a while but I drank some pop and listened to Bright Eyes and was alone. So it was nice. Except the traffic was shit. I found my usual parking spot a little after 1:00 and I walked 0.9 miles to the Twisted Spoke for lunch and drinks. It was nice to see lots of people.

So then we walked the 0.9 miles back to the park. There was a massive line to get in but my friend Jasun and me are not idiots so we broke away from everyone and found that there was one MASSIVE line wrapped around the corner feeding in from the left and one from the right that was the same length. And then in the middle were two lines with eight people each in them. Because mob mentality is so silly people just see a long line and assume they are supposed to stand in it. So we called some other people and they figured it out too.

I kept it pretty easy most of the day at Pitchfork. Started the day mostly drinking beer and chatting with people I haven’t seen in a while under the trees. I watched EMA from afar. I guess she was ok. Same for Battles though I did go up a little closer for “Atlas” cause I love that song. Then a bunch of us went over to the side stage to scope out a spot for Currensy. Tune-Yards was still finishing up. They are kinda goofy but people seemed to like them. Then Currensy came on and he was great. I’m actually not a HUGE fan of his albums…stoner rap takes me a little while to get into. But he was super entertaining. The best part was his stage banter which was pretty much everything exactly the opposite of typical rapper banter. The best part was probably when he made fun of a crowd surfer: “Oh look at that guy. He must be having fun.” All nonchalant. Only disappointment….no Gangsta Gibbs appearance.

Well it was about this time that I realized what a clusterfuck the side stage truly was. I’m sure that’s only going to get worse as the weekend progresses, but it really got crazy for Das Racist. For as much as everyone talked about how awful Das Racist is live, I didn’t think it was so bad. It was a mess, but not much worse than a regular low budget rap show. When they were done there was an oppressive influx of James Blake fans so we got the fuck out of there.

I watched Neko Case from way back. Felt no need to be closer. She looks old and beautiful. Her band is even older. She sounded great. She played a lot of newer stuff that I’m not familiar with but she also did “Hold On, Hold On” which is one of my favorites.

And then there was Animal Collective and of course they were just fucking terrible. Listened to them from FAR away. They did have pretty lights and dancing was fun and silly. But God….what a stupid band.

And then I went home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 49

  1. chareelouise says:

    I think you’re life is more interesting than mine!

  2. kerouaccat says:

    You’re right! I AM life is more interesting than mine! 🙂

  3. i don’t know who any of those people are. i think it’s a good thing i’m not there.

Leave a Reply

