Day 46

Simplify, simplify.

Self-analysis in one question. The driving force behind my entire 31-year-old persona – the self-imposed rules and principles that guide my life, the beliefs I live by and the shameful fear of discussing them with others, the inability to acknowledge feelings without filtering them through books and music and quotes by other people, my fear of death and meeting God face to face (or worse yet not), the rote bedtime prayers, the fact that I am comfortable making a sentence like this available to anyone with an Internet connection but I can’t even read it out loud to myself – to what do I most owe the credit for who I am? Autism or Adventism? Or are they the same thing?

Does God punish the autistic mind for lack of faith?

My least favorite thing about being a vegetarian is telling people I am a vegetarian. This inevitably leads to a series of questioning that gets too personal and puts me on the defensive. My favorite part of being a vegetarian is how easy it makes dining out. Nearly everyone pities the vegetarian for his lack of options in this situation. I delight in it. Options are sensory overload. Scan the menu….apply personal standards…I know what I want. And so goes life.

You should read Blink. Malcolm Gladwell didn’t really teach me that much…he just showed me the research that confirmed what I’ve believed all along. “Extra information is more than useless. It’s harmful. It confuses the issues. What screws up doctors when they are trying to predict heart attacks is that they take too much information into account.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 46

  1. doctorwaffle says:

    I find that vegetarianism is really no big deal, at least in most of my circles these days. Enough people are vegetarians for health/ethical/environmental reasons that I don’t have to bring up religious reasons. Frankly, though, I’m really not a vegetarian for religious reasons. I do credit my continued vegetarianism with the fact that it’s all I’ve ever known, but honestly, I think there are really good, strong reasons for being a vegetarian (or at least a conscious eater) in 2011.

    In other news, I’m about to join a co-op.

  2. i agree. simplify. i’m actively working on all things that complicate my life.

Leave a Reply

