Day 31

Well today was a quiet day. I planned on seeing Low at Millennium Park tonight and I just realized I couldn’t. I’m sad because I really wanted to go to the Millennium Park concerts every Monday and I’ve been one time. Here was my reasoning today:

– While the shows are free it is still a fairly expensive evening. I’m looking at 27 for parking + whatever I spend on beer, which isn’t really too bad because it is byob. Then at some point I’m probably going to have to buy food. It all adds up. It is cheaper if I take the train, but…

– …with today’s weather forecast I really wasn’t interested in walking back to Union Station after the show. This turned out to be a moot point as the storms stayed away and it was a beautiful night.

– But the biggest reason is really just that I needed a bit of a break tonight. Saturday and Sunday were super fun but today I was really tired and feeling the effects of the alcohol. Plus my ears were still ringing most of the day from being so close to The Thermals.

So not a whole lot exciting happened today. I went to work, came home and watched the Cubs game, went for a bike ride, ate some Noodles and Co., read outside, and then came in and watched “Weeds” and “The Big C” premieres. Really the highlight of the day was the bike ride.

I got my bike on Friday night and I have gone on a bike ride every day since. It has made me feel really good. It’s obviously great physically, especially since it gives me a form of exercise that I look forward to instead of dreading. It’s also spiritually rejuvenating. It’s an opportunity to just cruise around, feel the sun and the wind, and meditate on life. And it was especially great to get out on a trail Sunday morning and sweat out all the toxins and feel great about the world. Also I saw a scary snake.

My other story today is that I ran into one of my future students and his mom. She was all shocked to see me and then she was like “We’re SO excited about the school year. We were thinking about sending him to a different school until we found out you were going to be his teacher.” It’s nice when parents say flattering things…which they do a lot. I seem to have them fooled. She also said, “I’m an easy mom.” Hehehehe…

Tomorrow? Hmmm….well I have the afternoon off so I may have to come up with something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 31

  1. lilslik says:

    I’ve learned that even free things can be expensive unless you don’t drink or eat.

  2. chareelouise says:

    I would love to have my kids in your classroom, plus you’re a man teacher. I didn’t have my first male teacher until 6th grade and I was terrified the first day of class. He then turned out to be my favorite of all my teachers up to that point.

    You should bring your bike up here next time you come!

Leave a Reply

