Gee it’s great to be alive…takes the skin right off my hide…to think I’ll have to give it all up someday.

Here are two songs. They are the same song. They are one of my favorite songs. I’m very interested to hear which one people like more.

I think that the one you like more says a LOT about you. That said…I like them COMPLETELY equally and that is no lie. More on that later. Today I want to do one of those blogs where I just talk about my day because I actually had a pretty interesting day for once. Really all this means is that it was a weekday and I did more than my typical weekday routine of work then coming home and watching basketball while I read a book and drink 2-3 beers. This is what I love but I also love doing other things.

Work was work. It sort of sucked. More IAA testing. More kids. People suck. Bla.

Then I went to see Jack (aka Vasco da Gama)- my 17-year-old – after work. I was going to work late and THEN go see him but then I was like, fuck that I don’t wanna be here anymore, and left shortly after I got off work. It was a pretty typical day with Jack. We went to Chipotle and then to Borders where he listened to music. Then I taught him an important economics lesson and we went to Best Buy to purchase the album he chose at Borders. But the best part with Jack today was this interaction while we were eating:

Mike: Jack you inhaled those tacos.
Jack: Yeah.
Mike: Do you know what that means? Inhaled?
Jack: I don’t know.
Mike: It means you ate them REALLY fast.
Jack: Well….I guess that’s why they call it fast food.
Mike: I suppose but…..WHOOOOAH! Jack…did you just make a joke!?!?
Jack: Yes I made a joke.

This was HUGE. Jack is a really funny kid and he acts funny all the time…but jokes are fucking HARD. We don’t even realize it most of the time. But think about what goes into a joke…there are all these implications about what funny is. Plus nearly every joke is built on multiple layers of double meaning and subtlety that is really difficult to understand when you are a very literal thinker. That’s why jokes are REALLY hard to teach autistic kids. You tell most autistic kids that a chicken crossed the road to get to the other side and they TOTALLY get it. They are like….yeah, that makes sense, smart chicken. Cause jokes are weird and hard. So this was probably the highlight of my day.

Also…we made a video of us dancing in the car to “Whatever You Like”.

Then I was gonna go home and do like I do (the watching basketball / reading thing) when my friend Steve from work called. He had to go to 4th grade family night and was like…WANNA GO WATCH THE BULLS HEAT GAME AT B DUBS and I was like…yeah. So I ended up going drinking tonight. And it was great! The Bulls beat the Heat AGAIN (!) and also the Hawks won. Best Chicago sports day since the Bears won the playoff game last month. Plus Steve assured me I wasn’t NEARLY as obnoxious as I had thought I was when I hung out with some teachers from my school a few weeks back. In fact…I was actually hilarious. All kindsa win goin’ on….

Then I came home and read @lilslik’s depressing blog. She told me she was writing a depressing blog and I was totally stoked to read it. Then I found out it was REALLY depressing…not that pseudo-intellectual depressing that makes people like me sound intelligent. But it was beautiful and sad and when I finished I had to lie down in my room for a few minutes cause I was sad and a little drunk. Then I got up again and watched “The Office” and that was kind of funny. But FWIW…I think writing about personal emotions is the most difficult thing to write about. I tried to do it seven times last week and I stopped after three…officially I was overloaded at work, off the record I was emotionally drained from telling people secrets I expend so much energy keeping locked up. All that said…I think blogging and opening up to the masses is 90 times easier than talking about things out loud so maybe I’m just a lost cause all around. Either way…good for you Erica…I hope yr happy outweighs yr sad.

Now I’m going to bed. Tomorrow is Institute Day with NO KIDS woo. Then comes Dzia Dzia’s birthday bash with all kinds of wooo. (He has strong opinions about Wisconsin.) I HAVE SO MUCH TO BLOG AT YOU PEOPLE ABOUT.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gee it’s great to be alive…takes the skin right off my hide…to think I’ll have to give it all up someday.

  1. Carin says:

    wisconsin in general or what’s currently happening in wisconsin?

    i agree. it’s hard to write about your feelings, and it’s harder to write about them without it coming across as real and not self-indulgence. i’m not sure i’ve walked the line well when i’ve tried.

  2. lilslik says:

    I hope I didn’t depress everyone. It was just getting things out of my head. I had been depressed yesterday, but after I wrote that long blog and took a bath and also a muscle relaxer, my mind was at ease!

    I love M. Ward’s version! Just be sure, I’m listening to the first version one last time. The background music reminds me of Go Team on the first version.

    Jack must really think you’re the bees knees. I think that’s cool.

  3. chareelouise says:

    I’m with Erica, I prefer the M. Ward one…what does that say about me???

Leave a Reply

