Super Bull

Well thank goodness the Super Bowl is finally over.  There was a pit in my stomach when I realized the only thing that could possibly keep the Packers from a championship was a heroic two minute drive by a rapey quarterback.  And that’s a pretty bad way to start the conversation…  So here are a few of the thoughts I took away from last night’s game.

1) Christina Aguilera fucked up the Star Spangled Banner.  Everyone knows that but I didn’t realize it till everyone started tweeting about it.  I guess I just couldn’t focus on the lyrics because the performance was just so awful to begin with.  I generally like to think I’m pretty up on what’s going on in pop culture but I must have TOTALLY slept on the part where people care about Christina Aguilera again.  I liked it better three years ago.

2) The militarism / patriotism of the NFL is getting old.  I’m tired of EVERYTHING being about soldiers and nobody being allowed to complain about that without being slandered as unAmerican.  I’m all for respecting war heroes and run of the mill soldiers and all that…I’m just tired of doing it ALL THE DAMN TIME.  We get it already.  They are heroes.  And why the hell do I need to listen to NFL legends read the Declaration of Independence before the game starts?  And it’s not that I have a problem with any of the above stuff…it’s that I have a problem with the above stuff when it is so clearly nothing more than an effort to capitalize off of people’s emotions.  That’s enough…

3) WOOOOW were the commercials ever WEIRD this year!  I feel like all these commercials were just stream-of-consciousness mumbo jumbo. I mean…it isn’t news to anyone that the plot of most commercials really doesn’t have anything to do with the product.  But this year I feel we went a step further…the plot points in this years commercials had NOTHING TO DO WITH OTHER PLOT POINTS IN THE SAME COMMERCIALS.  The best example of this is where the rough/tough cowboy orders a beer and they give him a beer and then everyone sings “Tiny Dancer”.  WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT!  I really didn’t notice how absurd the commercials were until about midway through the second quarter when it dawned on me that I’d lost the plot on about 60 percent of the commercials.  And I still can’t tell you what product most of them were for.  The only reason I remember that the Eminem commercial was for Chrysler was because I made a mental note of it….I was damn sure until the last minute that was just going to be a commercial for Detroit.  Also…I laughed my ass off at both Groupon commercials…and surprise surprise they are tweaking the commercials because people complained.  Weak…

4) The less said about the game the better…though it was a pretty good game.  There.

5) Black Eyed Peas.  No…they weren’t good.  But I can’t believe the Facebook / Twitter avalanche of hatred.  They were pretty much exactly what I expected them to be.  The vocals were bad, Fergie was terrible, the lights were pretty.  I’m not sure if people were thinking they were all of a sudden going to turn into Radiohead or something or what.  For what it’s worth…I’m kind of glad the NFL went with a currently charting pop act, even if it is one I don’t particularly care for.  Give us something for the kids…the 35+ crowd is set, they are not deciding whether or not to watch the Super Bowl based on the halftime show.  I love Macca and Springsteen as much as the next guy, but I also appreciate marketing your product to young people.  I just hope next time they go with something better…Kanye please.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Super Bull

  1. Carin says:

    one of usher’s backup dancers looked kind of like kanye. not enough for you? so demanding.

  2. kerouaccat says:

    Carin…ok?

    All black people don’t look the same.

  3. chareelouise says:

    It’s America, learn the rules, it’s football, Dick Cheney and Jesus, bitch.

  4. doctorwaffle says:

    I really didn’t expect the BEPs to be amazing, but they were off-pitch the whole performance and the person running sound really botched the operation. If those things had been resolved, I wouldn’t have been so annoyed.

    • lilslik says:

      That’s what I said to Mike during the Superbowl and then I got grumpy when he tried to argue with me..
      After seeing them at GC 5 years ago, I didn’t expect them to be good.. I did expect them to not sing pitchy for most of the songs.

      • lilslik says:

        I throw out the phrase “I saw Black Eyed Peas at GC” a lot and always hope people actually thought they were AT GC. heh heh heh

  5. lilslik says:

    2. – Glad you said this because I have wondered about this for a long time. What does the military and sports have in common?
    3. – I watched the superbowl and was looking forward to the commercials, but was sorely disappointed. This goes back to how I feel about Thursday night NBC tv. I feel like I’m supposed to love it, but feel confused watching the shows. I also felt confused watching the commercials. It seems like the idea of what’s funny has shifted, and I didn’t shift with it.

Leave a Reply

